Blagged another two yesterday – 24 and counting

4 09 2013
Buachaille Etive Mor and Rannoch Moor - on the way back...

Buachaille Etive Mor and Rannoch Moor – on the way back…

Meall a Buhuiridh and Creise are two hills which I have got to the top of before and, as such, required me to revisit them both with the intention of “not getting to the top of them”. A pedant I know, but if we are going to do this right, we need to go round every one of the 282 Munros and revisit if necessary just to get the satisfaction of “almost getting to the top”.

So I set off rather late: The intention being to go up Ben Dorain (another hill I’ve been to the top of but have to revisit to claim summit avoidance), however by the time I arrived at Bridge of Orchy, it was a bit too wet for my liking. And a bit too clagged. I drove on in the direction of Glen Coe, my spiritual home. It gave me the opportunity to listen to some more of the Mildred’s Dairy cd which was playing away in my car, I was enjoying it tremendously. I arrived at the Glen Coe Ski Centre car park and had some “lunch” I had procured from the “good good” shop next to the Green Welly in Tyndrum. Lunch – I use the term loosely –  was a Ginsters style Cheese Slice and a couple of mini Snickers. Not the most healthy of lunches, however with every sandwich pack containing meat of one form or another, I was rather stuck with what I had. I finished it off, washed it down with a couple of swigs of coke and started to read the Oban Times or whatever its called (yes I did buy it). Some light drizzle settled on the windscreen of the car as I noticed that the time was now midday. I fell asleep.

I woke an hour later and decided that I should really get out and stretch my legs.

“I’ll get to the top of the first chairlift stop and head back” I thought. So off I went.

The First one.....

The First one…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Other one....

The Other one….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Four and a half hours later I arrived back at the car.

I had not got to the top of two more bloody Munros. Some part of me must enjoy it, for the life of me I don’t know why…………. the views were OK – apart from the bloody skiing equipment scarring tops (bloody skiers).

Bloody Skiers....

Bloody Skiers….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s 24 not done now.

the alternative route out.... Not..

the alternative route out…. Not..

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

