A short day – Ben Lawers and Beinn Ghlas 31 and 32

2 09 2014
Ben Lawers and Beinn Ghlas

Ben Lawers and Beinn Ghlas

The guide said 5-6 hours. Going by the last outing, I should bank on 6 hours. So I packed and I set off, alone again…….naturally.

A short drive to Crianlarich then a right turn towards Killin and from then it was relatively new ground as I didn’t really know where I was heading for. No fear, it was signed all the way, even up to the car park and what a relief that most of the height was gained sitting in the car, a real boon for the average Munro Blagger. I parked the car high on the hill in the common carpark.

The whole Ben Lawers “experience” could easily have been straight from Disneyland or Alton Towers, with leaflets at the gate, parking meters, guided “routes” and markers, and a path which looked more engineered than a Japanese motorcycle, it wouldn’t have surprised me if there was a “Quick Queue” option as you left the gate at the car park, or a poncho sales guy with a smile full of teeth and personality which overpowered his charisma. it wouldn’t have surprised me at all.

I followed the yellow brick road all the way to the top of Ben Lawers – I took the low road to the bealach between Meall Corranaich and Beinn Ghlas as opposed to the steep walk up the “ridge” to Beinn Ghlas – and on the way considered a detour on the way back to do Meall Corranaich. I felt that It could be achievable as i was moving quite quickly, however once I got to Lawers, I decided against it as It would easily add another 2 hours onto my day.

 

This'll do fine......

This’ll do fine……

I got back to the car in 3 and a half hours, a pleasant day.

Unlike the previous two, I met loads of people but no-one stopped to talk, what is it about people? The London Underground syndrome……..

Finding Your Feet

Finding Your Feet

I’ll be back at some point as there are others, hope there’s more chat……..

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

